Tags

, , , ,

Let’s just say that my energy was pretty low after last nights dinner so I didn’t get to making the quartre-quarts until Mei’s first nap of the day but luckily this cake comes together very quickly! I managed to whip the whites and dust the pan without waking Mei, which was rather nerve-racking, and it went into the oven while I had lunch and once it came out???

DELICIOUS!

It smelled wonderful and I was very excited to share this with my husband after dinner tonight. We picked up some really good looking, plump blueberries at the store yesterday and some cream, so I was extra excited to get back from our day today to sit down and enjoy this cake!

After a dinner of pizza – it was just what I was craving, although not at all French, I got the whipped cream whipped, dropped a handful of blueberries on top of the springy, brown sugar glazed cake and enjoyed bite after bite until the first serving was gone…

I can’t confirm or deny that we had a second serving at all, but I can say this, I will be a bit more heavy handed with the brown sugar next time or use sugar in the raw because I want the glaze to cover the entire surface of the cake. And I think I might buy some cute mini bundts or other pan to make these again since these would be perfect for tea or a small, but filling dessert after dinner with my friends! And some of my Dorista friends have tempted me to buy some cute mini pans after seeing their posts this morning! *wink*

To get the recipe, please pick up a copy of Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table and then click over here and join our little cooking group! It’s a delicious hobby and worth one day a week! Although most of us find that we cook from Dorie’s book more often than that!! Or just click here to see how the other Doristas fared and what they opted to put on their cakes!